Evernote Reveiw (Part 3)

I used to be a big fan of post-its, and I still have a soft spot for them, but I think that Evernote is going to replace the need for them in my house. I have now had Evernote for 2 weeks. I am using it more and more. Not only for the study things I was initially going to use, I am using it far more. I have discovered (and LT has helped me too) many little things that are simple, yet make it so very functional for me.

Almost a week ago I started to follow Evernote on twitter, and it just so happened that the featured video for the week was one from ‘digitwirl’ and American site that previews and reviews gadgets and software etc to help make life easier. The video (only 3 minutes) shows so many applications for Evernote in the busy life of a working Mum that it just opened up the next level of it’s use for me. Needless to say I have now joined Digitwirl and am looking at the many other things they have reviewed. Here is a link to their site, and a second link to their Evernote video. I especially loved the idea of culling all of those loyalty cards from my wallet, and perhaps being able to zip it closed again.

With my LT’s help I have found out about taking screen shots, saving and sharing audio files and notebooks, even printing (yes, not paperless I know). I have also discovered check boxes you can add to the notes, and tables to organise lists.  I have emailed important emails directly to it, so when I need them in a months time I can find them quickly, especially if I don’t have my email account accessible at work. This week I have used it to record pictures from websites I like, save details of my rooms for teaching this semester, my weekly to do list (with check boxes) and my shopping list (which is now in the cloud, and be be used to check off my online shopping when I have a chance to do it this week). The automatic syncing is brilliant.

I am also getting the Evernote upgrade (have almost used my monthly quota already, and really want to get my word files on here to share with my colleagues), and am pricing a new mobile that will make this storage always accessible, where ever I am.

So, if you are a busy person and want to keep all your important notes etc handy, I really suggest trying the free version of Evernote, see if it helps streamline your life. What other ways do you organise your ‘stuff’?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Digitwirl
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 12:02:53

    So glad you found the site and love that you love Evernote as much as we do! Thanks for helping us spread the word— love your site!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Our shrinking world… « mypaperlessphd

Leave a Reply

Past Posts

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
