A quick sweet recipe- Caramel Slice

Welcome to my new subscribers and followers via Facebook. Today is a break from methodology, with a recipe to fill those sweet slice tins. Yes, it’s my famous Caramel Slice recipe, it must be one of my most requested recipes from friends. I first made it for my WH not ling after we were married…it was also one of the first reasons I bought SFI (Super Food Ideas magazine) as it had this recipe in it.

It is quite quick, in fact I usually do it in short bursts, first I mix and cook the base. While it is in the oven I ‘whip up’ the caramel on the stove. By the time the caramel is ready (just combined, so no butter is sitting on top of the Condensed milk), the base is cooked and it all goes back in the oven. Then I wash up (admittedly after licking the warm caramel from the saucepan, but I digress). Once the washing up is done and put away the slice is usually ready to come out of the oven. It needs to cool, so is left on the stove top covered by an immaculately clean tea towel. An hour or so later I melt the chocolate and butter for the topping (in the microwave) then spread it over the top and pop it in the fridge, setting the timer for half an hour. I used to leave it overnight in the fridge, but it would always shatter the chocolate in the morning…still tasted fab, but didn’t look as appealing for sharing (for some reason WH never seemed to mind).

So enjoy…I have listed the original recipe (and my alterations are in brackets)…enjoy 🙂

Chocolate Caramel Slice (super food ideas Oct/Nov 2000. Pg 92)

Makes 24 slices

Ingredients

Base:

1 cup plain flour, sifted

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup desiccated coconut

125g butter (or margarine), melted

Caramel:

60g butter or margarine

1 x 400g tin sweetened condensed milk

2 tablespoons golden syrup

Topping:

60g of copha (or butter or cream)

200g milk or dark chocolate melts

What to do:

  1. Combine flour, sugar and coconut in a bowl. Stir through butter.
  2. Press mixture into a lined 18 x 28cm lamington tin. Bake in a moderate (180 o) oven for 15-20 minutes, until slightly golden.
  3. Melt extra butter in a saucepan. Mix in condensed milk and golden syrup. Stir over very low heat until well combined. (don’t boil..I find the caramel burns really quickly)
  4. Pour over base. Bake at 160o for 10-15 minutes until golden. Allow to cool.
  5. Melt copha in a saucepan over low heat. (Alternatively you can melt chocolate and butter/cream in microwave proof bowl in a microwave, for 30 second bursts on medium. Stir at each 30 second interval. Will take 2-3 minutes in total.)  Add chocolate melts. Stir until melted and well combined. Spread evenly over slice. Refrigerate until set. Approx 20mins. (If you leave it overnight the chocolate will crack instead of cutting straight)
  6. Cut into squares. These will keep well in an airtight container.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole Gosling
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 16:53:15

    This is so not good for my weightwatchers diet!

    Like

    Reply

    • Fiona T
      Sep 03, 2011 @ 17:03:57

      Actually, when I did WW I adapted this recipe substituting things from their list. The WW version used to have milk arrowroot biscuits in the base. I worked out the points and the flour base was less. You can also get a skim version of condensed milk, and use a little oil instead of butter in the choc on top. Enjoy either way 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. Maria
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 21:31:59

    Just thought I’d let you all know that Fiona does really make a great caramel slice! I’ll be trying out this recipe soon! Thanks for sharing Fiona!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Past Posts

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
