Evernote Review (Part 4)

Yes, Yes, I know. Even my students now roll their eyes when I say ‘Evernote’….but this week I have helped 2 more people streamline parts of their lives by using Evernote. As far as I can see Evernote keeps getting better and I am learning more about how to use it more effectively too.

A couple of weeks ago Evernote upgraded the usability of their free package, this now includes the ability to store office documents (excel, word, powerpoint), previously only available to premium users.  This is a fantastic step towards supporting teachers, students and schools to utilise this functional and free cloud based storage to work and share.

I have also had opportunity in the last few weeks to compare Evernote more closely with drop box (for a good blog on how this can help students see  Claire O’Neill’s blog). There are similarities between the basics of the two but the biggest differences I can see (please let me know if I am mistaken) are:

  • Files in dropbox need to be physically updated to make sure they are the newest version (by dragging new files to it). Evernote allows you to work on notes, or documents and save back to Evernote, meaning that you will always have the most up to date version synced. This can then be accessed via internet, computer, tablet, or smart phone.
  • Evernote also has options to record voice notes, take pictures and then add text etc onto Evernote directly. This means there is no need to work in another package and transfer to Evernote. My LT is having heaps of fun writing notes, taking pictures and reading stories onto Evernote, he was even able to show them to his class at school using the interactive white board. I have also used the audio recording feature recently to record practice interviews and then later listen back to them and transcribe them onto the same note in Evernote. I believe to do this on drop box I would have to record the audio file in another application and then transcribe to a word or other text based file, and put both files physically into drop box.
  • Individual notes or whole notebooks can be shared via email with non-Evernote users. I have the impression with drop box that you share the whole folder/box with others (again, correct me if I am mistaken).

So Evernote is working really well for me (and no, I am not getting a ‘kick back’ from Evernote…I just really like it)

Do you use Evernote? Do you use Onenote? Do you use Drop Box? Do you use Google Docs? Is there another ‘free’ cloud tool That you like to use?

Until Next Week

Happy Studyng,

Fiona T

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelley Puddin-Pants
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 17:28:49

    Thanks for all the info on Evernote – all I have to do now is create an account and I will be set to go! *lol* In response to your question re: free cloud tools I thought I would let you know that http://www.box.net/ is another cloud-based storage service. I have only recently come across it but from now, until 2nd December 2012, users are being allocated 50GB of storage instead of the standard 5GB. This allocation will remain until you close your account. And it is free. The only catch *sorry ’bout that!* is that you need to create your account from an iPad, iPhone or iPod Touch. I created my account, got all my lovely cloud-storage…but I had borrowed an iThingy from a friend (I am iThingy-free at this point in my life 😀 )

    I’ve really been enjoying your blog – thanks!

    Like

    Reply

    • Fiona T
      Oct 24, 2011 @ 12:43:49

      Thanks for that Shelly…50gb free cloud storage certainly fits into my ‘financially neutral’ study plans 🙂 I too, though a Mac person, am not a I-pad/Iphone convert…but borrowing one is a great idea. My laptop has decided to be a bit finicky in startup today, but it isn’t stressful ’cause I know the important things are on my evernote, so aren’t lost, just another good point about the cloud 🙂

      I’m glad you are enjoying my blog, I am really enjoying writing it and sharing what I am finding out. Thanks for following 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. Shelley Puddin-Pants
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 18:15:50

    Whoops! Forgot to include the link to the box.net blog with the specifics… http://blog.box.net/2011/10/12/were-giving-ios-users-insane-amounts-of-free-storage-box50gb/

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Past Posts

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
