Digital Games and Neuroplasticity (Part 3)

Welcome to this third installment of, what has become, a series on neuroplasticity and learning (links for the first 2 posts: week 1 and week 2). This week two of my friends have (independently) sent me links to a TED Talk on neuroplasticty and digital games. I finally got to watch this clip, it is Daphne Bavelier talking about current research findings on how video games can assist in improving vision and brain function. I found this very interesting.


 

So, what did you think? For me, it builds upon what I have been thinking deeply about these past 3 weeks.  Bavelier’s studies show improvement in aspects of vision and memory, and really go a long way to supporting that using digital games (or any game really) can help the brain to make deeper/stronger connections, without the ‘learning’ being arduous. Her point about using video games in small chunks, over a period of time really resonates with my own view on doing a ‘little bit, often’ to reach a goal. That has been my rhetoric for a long time. When we build on these experiences over time, like with Norman Doiges work, and retrain our brain to respond in new and different ways, we can improve our own abilities.

In considering learning and neuroplasticity, there is much written and avaialable easily through the web. I would direct you to Judy Willis’ Blog, where I began: http://www.radteach.com, and to Paul Howard-Jones, whose work on neuroscience and learning I recently discovered.

Happy reading, and making new connections! Perhaps comment below to let me know of your thoughts and experiences in this area.

Until Next week

Fiona T

 

 

Leave a Reply

Past Posts

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
