Books to promote STEAM ideas with kids

This year has gotten off to a rocketing start –  I have been working on my PhD and getting back into the swing of my working year. Over the December holidays I also launched my new site: My WISE Dolls. This site aims to curate and share resources to support children(7-15) to up-cycle dolls to make “Working In STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Maths) Enterprise” Dolls. I have made under and up-cycled one doll: Mini Fi, the science teacher 🙂 The next one I will do is a Computer programmer doll for my Son.

Being a science teacher, I really want to promote opportunities for all children to access an understanding of what STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Maths) careers/interests can be. One aspect of this is though books, and I have been amassing a small collection of books that claim to address aspects of STEAM for this age group.  The blog posts over the next few months on mypaperlessphd will be short reviews of these books.

The first book I will review is Nick and Tesla’s High Voltage Danger Lab by “Science Bob” Pflugfelder and Steve Hockensmith. wp-1455419545895.jpgThis book would suit children aged 9-12 years old, and has an interesting mystery storyline that keeps the pages turning. There are accessible activities for children to replicate- with assistance from their Adult at times.  The story is made up of one part real science, one part mystery, one part adventure and one part MacGyver! The children in the story, twins Nick and Tesla are sent to stay with their Uncle for the summer. Their adventure starts right at the airport, and we get a sense that these two are very resourceful characters. As the first book in the series it gives closure on the first mystery, and sets up for a longer story line that will unfold over the coming books.

Here is the blurb from the website:

“Nick and Tesla are bright 11-year-old siblings with a knack for science, electronics, and getting into trouble. When their parents mysteriously vanish, they’re sent to live with their Uncle Newt, a brilliant inventor.

But it’s not long before Nick and Tesla are embarking on adventures of their own—and engineering all kinds of outrageous contraptions to save their skin.

In Nick and Tesla’s High-Voltage Danger Lab, we meet the characters and learn how to make everything from rocket launchers and burglar alarms to mobile tracking devices and more. Science has never been so dangerous—or so much fun!”

To read an excerpt pop over to the webpage: http://nickandtesla.com/book-1-high-voltage-danger-lab/.  This book can be read alone by children, but would be a lovely one to read aloud together too. It is also available as an audio book. As the main characters are a boy and a girl, this is a book promoting that science is accessible to everyone. I recommend it highly, and have just ordered the next in the series 🙂

I wonder if you have a STEAM book you would like to review- or would like me to review. Please let me know through the comments below, or through the facebook page.

Until next time

Fiona T

*All opinions are my own, and are unsolicited. I personally purchase all items reviewed on this blog and have received no payment from any supplier for promoting their goods. I am a student/teacher/academic and have no personal business affiliation or business motive on this blog. Opinions expressed are my own, and are not necessarily endorsed by my employer.

Leave a Reply

Past Posts

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  
